The parish probably comprised portions of three manors in 1100: the manors of MORETON and WRAY (which are easily identifiable in Domesday Book) and the manor of SOUTH TEIGN (which is not so easily identifiable but which was probably a royal manor). Moreton was divided to crerate the separate manor of DOCCOMBE in the twelfth century, and Wray was divided between coheireses before 1249, one moiety becoming the manor of HAYNE. Thus in the fourteenth century there were five manors in the parish. In addition there are a number of free tenements – all established by the fourteenth century – that did not form part of any of the manors, or were held of them at a quitrent and by fealty only. These include: BOWDEN, BUTTERDON, CRANBROOK, FORD, HOWTON, LANGHILL, MOOR BARTON, NORTHMOOR, PAFFORD, PEPPERDON and SAINTHILL. There is no evidence that Mearsdon Manor in Cross Street was ever a manor house, or that there ever was a manor called ‘Mearsdon’. [IJFM]

^ TOP ^